Pacifiers, Binkies, & Mute Buttons

Image

     I’ve said for a very long time that I don’t want to give my children pacifiers. Simply because I have seen the struggles of having to take that away. You already have to do things like potty train your child, and wean them off of the boob, or the bottle, my thoughts were why add one more thing to that long list of stress your baby is already going have. Yes, pacifiers are nice. Yes, they are soothing. But I have always figured that if it’s never introduced, then there really is no need. I think that I will inevitably be a Semi-Crunchy mama, meaning that I am going to use cloth diapers and make my own baby food or do Baby Led Weaning. I firmly believe in Peaceful Parenting, meaning that I want my child to tell me when he is ready to do things like wean off the boob and start potty training, but I don’t see a child ever really wanting to give up a pacifier, unless you’re one of those lucky parents. I don’t want a five year old still attached to a pacifier. I feel selfish at times because honestly, I don’t want to have to deal with finding a method that is just right to rip something away from my child that isn’t a necessity to begin with. 

   Now, lets talk science, or whatever. I’ve read a million things that say that part of SIDS prevention is a pacifier. I don’t know about you, but thinking about SIDS sure puts a fly in my oatmeal, and if I can do anything to prevent it, I will. There are things like this that a pacifier can be quite beneficial. Binkies supposedly help babies to satisfy themselves as well as satisfies the suck reflex, which is a comfort mechanism. It is also much easier to break a pacifier habit than it is to break another self soothing habit, such as thumb and finger sucking. There are also home remedies that they become beneficial such as filling them with water and freezing them to help with teething, you can find how to on Pinterest

   Those were the positive side of pacifiers, I’m sure there’s many more reasons, but these are just some of the reasons I have found. Some of the negatives are that they can cause ear infections because it adds pressure between the middle ear and upper throat, but this chance decreases if you stop at six months when the sucking reflex is lessened. My biggest fear of using a pacifier is nipple confusion, using one too early can create a latching problem in breast fed babies, but waiting until you have a well established breast feeding, usually after about a month. If you wait too long and let them keep the pacifier, it can change tooth alignment, delay speech, and lock the mouth into an unnatural position. 

   So I guess you could say that there are probably as many upsides as there are downsides. I still stand on the fence about it, I don’t want to give my baby a binky because I don’t want to have to deal with taking it away from them, and I want my nipple to be a source of comfort. But I do want to give my baby one because I want to prevent SIDS as much as possible, and being FTPs I think that it might save our sanity in those times of need. It’s not a major decision to make, people lived for years without pacifiers, I never had one, but it is one to make. If you are like me and can’t make a decision, I suggest doing lots of research on it. Talking to you spouse helps a lot as well. If you’re like me and this is one of those things that your spouse could care less about, I’ve noticed that asking or bringing it up multiple times that they will eventually give you an answer, if not, then you’re on your own, kid, haha. 

So tell me, why did you decide to/not to give your precious one a binky?

Till next time, 

                   Liz

Leave a Reply

